How to watch Summer Game Fest live today: start time and what to expect

To update: Summer Game Fest Live is over and it brought with it a ton of new features. While its biggest reveal, The Last of Us Part 1 remake, was leaked ahead of time, there was still a lot to take in, so be sure to check out our Summer Game Fest Live Announce Roundup for the biggest news. and games. The original story follows.

Live Summer Games Festival is live right now, showing a wide variety of games. The Geoff Keighley-hosted event will run for a total of two hours, so there’s still plenty to come as part of the live stream. We’ve already taken a look at Street Fighter 6, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, and The Callisto Protocol.

Playing now: Summer Game Fest 2022 Live Stream

Keighley is best known for hosting and producing The Game Awards each December, and also hosts Gamescom’s Opening Night Live. Due to E3 being cancelled, some have started calling the event “Keigh3”. By “some”, we mean us. Here’s how to watch it.

When is the Summer Game Fest Live 2022 Showcase?

Summer Game Fest Live 2022 takes place on Thursday, June 9. It starts at 11 a.m. PT / 2 p.m. ET, and you can check out more regional times below. Our pre-show here at GameSpot will kick off half an hour early at 10:30am PST.

SGF start time (Thursday June 9)

  • 11 a.m. (Pacific Time)
  • 1 p.m. Central Time
  • 2 p.m. ET
  • 18:00 GMT
  • 3am JST (Friday June 10)
  • 4am AEST (Friday June 10)

How to watch Summer Game Fest Live 2022

The Summer Game Fest Live 2022 presentation will be broadcast through the usual streaming platforms such as YouTube and Twitch; You can also watch it directly on this page or on GameSpot’s YouTube channel. We’ll also have pre-show and post-show presentations with a preview of what to expect and a rundown of all the biggest announcements.

This year, the presentation will also air in select IMAX theaters. Ticket sales for the live event will begin on May 12. Keighley also teased that the IMAX partnership will continue for The Game Awards later this year.

What to expect at Summer Game Fest Live 2022

Like many of these summer showcases, we still don’t know much about what to expect from the Summer Game Fest Live 2022 presentation. However, Geoff Keighley’s productions are usually a mix of new game premieres and new looks at games previously. announced. It’s also not unusual for a game company to formally announce a game days or weeks before the event to tease a trailer premiere during Summer Game Fest or The Game Awards. So we can get a better idea of ​​the lineup as we get closer to the date in June. In fact, that has now happened, as new footage of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare II is confirmed to appear during the event.

The Keighley event also takes place just before the Xbox showcase on June 12. It wouldn’t be uncommon for a publisher like Microsoft to plan a two-part game reveal, first teasing a game during Summer Game Fest and then going into more detail at its own event. This year, Microsoft is sharing the stage with its most recent (finalized) acquisition, Bethesda, and we expect to see Starfield make a big splash.

We also know that Warframe will appear, and we may also hear about Hideo Kojima’s rumored game Overdose. Other confirmed games include Street Fighter 6, The Callisto Protocol, and Gotham Knights.

Unlike Microsoft or Ubisoft productions, this won’t be strictly focused on titles that appear on a particular hardware platform or come from a single publisher. Instead, Summer Game Fest Live 2022 will feature the debuts of any games that agree to showcase their wares at the Keighley events. In the past, that has included big hits like Death Stranding, Elden Ring, Star Wars Eclipse, and Bayonetta 3.

Although the games are mostly a mystery, we do have a list of confirmed entrants:

  • 2K games
  • activision
  • Atlus
  • bandai namco
  • team bloober
  • capcom
  • coffee stain
  • deep silver
  • Return Digital
  • digital ends
  • Dotemu
  • USA
  • epic games
  • focus entertainment
  • Frost Giant Studios
  • humble games
  • Infinity Level
  • mediatonic
  • mihoyo
  • Netflix
  • game station
  • raw fury
  • Samsung
  • sega
  • Square Enix
  • Skybound Games
  • Vapor
  • MDHR Study
  • tribeca-festival
  • Warner Bros Games
  • xbox

Developers Day 2022

As noted above, Day of the Devs will return and take place immediately after the end of Summer Game Fest Live. It’s produced by Double Fine and iam8bit, and while we don’t know much about it, it’s often been a platform to showcase some exciting indie games. This year marks the 10th anniversary of the event.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a portion of the proceeds if you purchase something featured on our site.

Leave a Comment