Pobjoy Mint — British Virgin Islands: New Crown Coins Released to Commemorate the 20th Anniversary of the British Overseas Territories Act

Hover over to zoom.

The British Virgin Islands Treasury has released new crown coins marking the 20th anniversary of the ratification of the British Overseas Territories Act 2002. This is an Act of the UK Parliament which established legal provisions for changing the name of all British Dependent Territories as British Overseas. Territories and granting those with associated British citizenship full citizenship. As a result of the Act, everyone who was a citizen before 21 May 2002 of any British Overseas Territory immediately and automatically became a full British citizen on that date. Before this date, British citizenship was granted automatically on application only to citizens of Gibraltar and the Falkland Islands. Currently, there are fourteen territories with a constitutional and historical link to the United Kingdom although they are not part of the United Kingdom itself. The permanently inhabited territories have internal self-government, with the fourteen territories retaining the British monarch as head of state and the United Kingdom retaining responsibility for defense and foreign affairs. Three of the territories are inhabited only by a transient population of military or scientific personnel with a total population of just over 272,000 people in all territories.

The new coins are produced by the Pobjoy Mint at its facility in Surrey, England, on behalf of the British Virgin Islands treasury. The reverse design, which is shared in both cupro-nickel and silver, is based on an exquisite and classic interpretation of the three thanks created by the Royal Mint’s chief engraver, William Wyon, in 1817. The design never circulated, but crown coins were struck with a highly prized pattern and the design is considered one of the most sought after pieces. The shield at his feet represents the British Virgin Islands’ coat of arms to indicate the connection to the country as a British Overseas Territory. The motto FOEDUS INVIOLABILE, Translated as “Unbreakable League”, seen to the left and right of the main design, the tagline further emphasizes the connection and commemorates this anniversary. The denomination $10 (silver) or $1 (cupronickel) is shown just below the Three Graces. The obverse of the coin features an effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, which is an exclusive Pobjoy Mint design. The year of issue 2022 it is included within the legend that surrounds the image of the Queen.



Weight Diameter Quality

mint limit

1 dollar


28.2g 38.6mm Brilliant uncle.


10 dollars

.925 Silver

28.2g 38.6mm Proof


Brilliant Uncirculated coins are presented in a microfiber cloth bag. Silver Proof coins are encapsulated and presented in a personalized case accompanied by a certificate of authenticity. For additional information on these and other coins issued by the British Virgin Islands Treasury, click here.

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter!

Leave a Comment