UTSA to begin American Athletic Conference competition in 2023 | UTSA Today | UTSA

The six new members will join East Carolina, Memphis, Navy (football only), South Florida, SMU, Temple, Tulane, Tulsa and Wichita State (basketball and Olympic sports only) to bring The American membership to 15 schools, beginning with the 2023 -24 academic year. The American will compete as a 14-team league in soccer and men’s and women’s basketball among other sports.

“We are extremely pleased and excited to welcome our newest members to the conference in 2023, as we begin our second decade,” said the American Athletic Conference commissioner. Mike Aresco. “Our incoming schools comprise a distinguished group with attributes that will enhance our conference’s Power 6 goals. We have already seen the investment and commitment these institutions have made as they prepare to compete in The American and, along with our accomplished title institutions, the conference is assured many years of championship-level competition as part of a bright future ahead. It will build on the extraordinary legacy of the last decade.”

The American will have a presence in four of the top 10, seven of the top 25 and 12 of the top 51 Nielsen media markets. The league will have four teams in the state of Texas, two each in Florida and North Carolina, and one each in Pennsylvania, Maryland, Louisiana, Tennessee, Alabama, Oklahoma and Kansas.

As a member of The American, UTSA will enjoy increased national media exposure, increased brand recognition, more matchups between Texas teams and increased recruiting opportunities, increasing the university’s ability to compete at the highest level.

UTSA competes in 17 intercollegiate sports: baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s cross country, football, men’s and women’s golf, women’s soccer, softball, men’s and women’s tennis, men’s and women’s indoor and outdoor track and field and women’s volleyball. at the NCAA Division I level.

UTSA boasts 77 conference championships, more than 60 NCAA postseason appearances, nearly 50 All-Americans and 21 Academic All-Americans in its 41-year history of Division I athletics.

The university has been a member of Conference USA since July 2013. Prior to that, it was a member of the Western Athletic Conference in 2012-13 after more than two decades in the Southland Conference from 1991 to 2012. The Roadrunners began as an NCAA Division I Independent in 1981 before joining the Trans America Athletic Conference (now the Atlantic Sun) in 1986.

The American Athletic Conference was reconstituted in 2013 and serves its members from its headquarters in Irving, Texas. The American sponsors 22 championships, 10 for men and 12 for women, has television partnerships with ESPN, CBS Sports (for select men’s basketball games), and CBS Sports Network (for most Navy home football games), and has a marketing partnership with LEARFIELD.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button